never thought I would but going back to tubes

General foil-stuff being discussed here.

Moderators: Way Too Much Wind, balugh, Job

never thought I would but going back to tubes

Postby brstn » Wed May 23, 2007 7:25 pm

This is my first post and sorry to say but I finally decided to go back to inflatable kites.

So far, I had a chance to fly P3 10M and 13M in water. They are great in the air but on water, they have been causing multiple problems including bow tied, drinking water, tangled lines etc....

I have to admit, it probably is 90% my fault as I am new to Flysurfer kites. As a matter of fact, if the kite sits on water leading edge down, re-launch is quite straight forward.

Yesterday, I've decided to practice real-life scenario, activating 5th line, crashing the kite, letting go the bar and etc, just normal stuff that can happen during riding. In two occasions, water got into the kite. First time when it happened, there was too much water in the kite to lanuch so I had to drag it to the beach and drain it (edited). Second, someone drained the water while I was holding the kite on water.

After that point, I was thinking "what if that happens in deep water?" Do I pretty much have to abandon my kite and swim back? How did you guys deal with it when it happened to you? At the end, I was so paranoid, I couldn't even go out far. Definately no fun on that.

I wanted to be a cool guy flying foils like you guys but I guess I am not good enough yet. I hate to go back to tubes but I think that's right decision for me. I've learned a ton of stuff in this forum and I really appreciate that. - Brian
brstn
Foil Family

Re: never thought I would but going back to tubes

Postby sflinux » Wed May 23, 2007 7:58 pm

brstn wrote:"what if that happens in deep water?"

-I wear a pfd
-I wear a backpack with swimfins, a whistle, a strobe light, a vhf radio
-my helmet has reflective tape
-in light winds I use surfboards so I can paddle back to shore.